Harmful Effects of Parabens


So thanks to a person who kindly commented on one of my vids asking whether the product I was reviewing contained Parabens or not.  That really striked me to talk about the Harmful Effects of Parabens. Also, I have watched a vid from Brittaney… Youtube makeup guru known as brittkneegirl1… talked about Parabens in one of her earlier vids. I don’t remember exactly what she said so my comments and opinions will not be mimicking hers.

What are Parabens?

Parabens are basically preservatives used mostly in the beauty and makeup industry. They are found mostly in shampoos, moisturizers, shaving cream, toothpastes and different makeup items. If a product doesn’t use Parabens then it probably won’t last too long. I heard that if there are no Parabens in a product… there might be a different ingredient used to replace it (that ingredient may be harmful as well).

Harmful Effects of Parabens

Parabens are one of the cancer causing agents mostly found in breast cancer. I don’t know how high this percentage is but from what I know is that… not everyone who uses Paraben products get cancer of any form and the people who get cancer might get it from other causes than Parabens.

Different Paraben Names

If you are concerned check the labels of the products. The names of Parabens are methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, butylparaben, isobutylparaben, isopropylparaben, and benzylparaben. The methyl and propyl ones are the most common.

Brands That Contain Parabens

Basically, if you just picked up any random makeup or beauty product you have at home chances are there is going to be some form of Paraben in it. It doesn’t matter whether or not the products are high end or drugstore. Even products that claim to be mineral such as Pur Minerals, Bare Essentuals, L’oreal Bare Naturale and many other brands that carry all mineral makeup or select few mineral makeup contain Parabens.  I was soo shocked that my Lush hand lotion has Parabens in it. Since Lush is more natural, the shelf life of the hand lotion is only a bit over a year (there is a best before date on there). There are select few high end brands that make products without Parabens. Some Bare Essentual products contain no Parabens as well as the Korres face primer (I don’t know if other Korres products have Parabens in them). Also, Physicians Formula Organic Wear line contain absolutely no Parabens (also no GMO’s, no preservatives, etc).

Prices & My Conclusion

I conclude that (other than Physicians Formula) if you want to get products without Parabens you have to pay for the price. You aren’t going to find anything under $10 or even under $20 (again other than Physicians Formula which range from $10-20) that is Paraben free. I try to avoid Parabens but honestly if something has Parabens in it I will still use it.  If I get breast cancer (knock on wood.. I really hope not) I’m obviously not going to blame those companies or anyone. I would just stick to any affordable makeup and beauty product.  But I do btw use Physicians Formula Organic Wear line for some of my makeup so I guess HOORAY for me. I would advise you figure out for yourself what you want. I am by all means not telling you to buy or not by products with or without Parabens.
Disclaimer: This is only my opinion. I am not a chemist, scientist, pharmaceutical engineer, or what have you. I feel that this is an issue going around and I just like to address it.
About GLOSSette

I am just an average gal in her mid 20's trying to live life in this money eating world. I love all things to do with makeup, beauty, organization, and living on a budget. I have two Youtube channels "xxlostintranslationx" and "TheGLOSSette". My blog is just an extension of Youtube as well as quirky things I do and find in my daily life.
This entry was posted in Health & Fitness, Makeup & Skincare, Physicians Formula and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Harmful Effects of Parabens

  1. Pingback: Burt’s Bees – Eco-friendly Skincare |

  2. Pingback: YAY or NAY? AHAVA Time to Smooth Age Control Day Moisturizer |

Leave a Reply

