Sponge Tip Applicators – Misconceptions


If you are a makeup artist or just any average girl that likes makeup, you probably hate these. These are the things that come in duo, trio, or quad eyeshadows mostly when you buy from drugstore. And the first thing you do when you get your palette you are so happy to toss them out of your sight. DUN DUN DUN… they are the dreaded Sponge Tip Applicators.
I never really used them ever. Before I started getting really really really into makeup (about a year ago), I didn’t really wear eyeshadows b/c I didn’t know how to put them on properly especially since I have Asian eyes it doesn’t help to be an eyeshadow newbie. I only have a quad that came in a makeup kit… ones you can get at the drugstore during Christmas time with blushes, lipsticks, nail varnishes, etc for a cheap price. That quad wasn’t that great of a quality. Anywhoo… back to the point when I decided to wear eyeshadow I didn’t even use sponge tips back then. I used crappy no name eyeshadow brushes that were lying around the house.
Emily, one of my fave Youtube makeup gurus, used sponge tips on couple of her makeup tutorials. I started using them once in a while. They are AWESOME for packing on color and getting into the inner corners of the eyes b/c they are pointy tip. Plus they come included in your eyeshadow palettes. Note that they don’t come included with single eyeshadows. And did I mention they are great for makeup beginners. One of the reasons why people hate them is b/c they grow bacteria since you can’t wash sponge tips. What I suggest is that you keep used ones individually in a small container in a room temperature and dry place. Use them for 3 to 5 consecutive days then throw them out.
Almost all brands sell packs of sponge tip applicators. They are all the same. Since you have to throw them out quite often a cheaper brand would suffice. You can get the cosmetic applicators which are just like Q-tips cept they are flat on both ends. They usually come in a pack of 80. The Make-Off ones are only $2.99. Can’t beat that.
Or you can just get the so called sponge tip applicators. I prefer the ones with the sponge only on the one end cuz its easier to hold and you won’t get your hands dirty (if the other side has product already on it).  I don’t know how much they cost but they’re probably very cheap. Maybe the same price as the Make-Off ones but don’t quote me on that.
Conclusion… I do recommend these for anyone into makeup. I wouldn’t compare them to eyeshadow brushes. LOL… I know a lot of ya’ll will ask me which one is better so DON’T!
About GLOSSette

I am just an average gal in her mid 20's trying to live life in this money eating world. I love all things to do with makeup, beauty, organization, and living on a budget. I have two Youtube channels "xxlostintranslationx" and "TheGLOSSette". My blog is just an extension of Youtube as well as quirky things I do and find in my daily life.
This entry was posted in Makeup & Skincare, Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

