Rimmel Stay Matte Clarifying Matte Foundation


This foundation is marketed to be the next best thing since Rimmel Lasting Finish especially for combo/ oily skin. It claims to be “shine control formula for up to 12 hours matte coverage also with gentle botanical extracts to help soothe sensitive skin”.
I picked up Rimmel Stay Matte + Skinpure Complex Clarifying Matte Foundation because I really needed a foundation that would help me stay matte throughout the day. I have quite oily skin. And this was only $8.99 or something so quite a reasonable price. Most drugstore foundations now are over 10 bucks which I find ridiculous but that is another blog post to rant about it.
Anywhoo, I like how it comes in a skinny flat squeezy tube as opposed to the fatter squeezy tube. You can totally control the amount of product you want. Since it is squeezy I can just place the product onto my brush without needing a palette or using the back of my hands (I never would do that or suggest since it will absorb into your hand and waste product). There is no strong smell which is AWESOME!! And I even found out it is paraben free after I bought it.
I got the shade 102 Warm Ivory. It’s slightly lighter but if I blend it works out. I am a NC25 in MAC Cosmetics btw. There used to be only 4 shades or something but when I bought it at London Drugs they had tons of shades like at least 10 and even testers to try em out. I heard best to try on the back of your wrist but my wrist is slightly lighter in shade so that did not work. I hate testing out foundations at stores on my face.
The problem is that it does not apply smooth. It comes out quite thick so you have to work on sections of your face. I tend to like to dot it everywhere on my face then blend it out with a brush. First I used a stippling brush cuz its my favorite type of brush to apply any liquid foundation with. It was ok but was not up to the standards I like. Then I tried flat top foundation brush and it got immensly cakey. Since its cakey and hard to blend I def not recommend for dry skin people.  I have never got cakey before not even with heavy coverage Revlon ColorStay. So I opted to use my hands. It gives very sheer tinted moisturizer coverage. That is the only way I will use it if I ever use it again. Maybe like in the summer or something.
It does not stay on for 12 hours as it claims. Nothing on me stays for a long time. I find the more matte it is the longer it stays on. I would say for very fresh look no more than 6 to 8 hours. After that if you blot and then powder over. Also the claim for having botanical to soothe the skin… I doubt there is enough botanicals to make it work.
Verdict… I would not repurchase this product. If you work with some of the positives that I have said maybe the product might just be wonders for you.
Rating… 1.5/5
About GLOSSette

I am just an average gal in her mid 20's trying to live life in this money eating world. I love all things to do with makeup, beauty, organization, and living on a budget. I have two Youtube channels "xxlostintranslationx" and "TheGLOSSette". My blog is just an extension of Youtube as well as quirky things I do and find in my daily life.
This entry was posted in M- R, Makeup & Skincare, Reviews, Rimmel London and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rimmel Stay Matte Clarifying Matte Foundation

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Rimmel Stay Matte Clarifying Matte Foundation | -- Topsy.com

  2. tanisha says:

    I’m gonna have to try this. I too have oily skin. Thanks for the post.

  3. Pingback: Drugstore Foundations |

Leave a Reply

