My Homemade Easy White Sauce w/ Veggies


I knew there was not a lot of stuff to eat for dinner (that was leftover and could just heat up in the micro). I was also in the mood for making something. After looking all over the kitchen and fridge… I had to make some sort of sauce for a pasta dish. There was no tomatoes or any tomatoey sort of canned food. Also a lot of white sauces called for heavy cream and other things I did not have. So I found a very basic recipe but was too bland so I used that as a guideline. Here I will show you what I did exactly.
Ingredients
  • 1.5 – 2 tbsp of butter (no margarine that is bad for you)
  • 2 tbsp (leveled off) of all purpose flour
  • 1 cup of skim milk
  • 1 – 2 cups of water
  • Minced handful of bok choy (it would taste way better with baby spinach)
  • A whole lot of Italiano Seasoning (or any mixed herb seasoning)
  • Salt (to taste)
  • Nutmeg (to taste)
  • Pepper (to taste)
Directions
  1. Cut veggies and have everything measured other than the “seasonings”
  2. Add tiny amount of  butter (not the suggested one above)  to pot. When it melts add veggies and cook in high heat for about 2 mins. Place it in a bowl
  3. Add butter to same pot on medium heat. When it melts add flour until flour and butter is mixed in. Stir constantly.
  4. Slowly add milk until all is mixed. Stir constantly. Depending on how thick you want it you may want to add water accordingly.
  5. Add veggies and seasonings. Cook until you get the thickness you want for your sauce. Make sure no more lumpy flour bits.
Pasta… while you are cutting veggies add your pasta of choice in boiling water for 10 – 12 mins. I used Penne since it is my mom’s favorite so it took about 14 mins to cook. The tip is to add salt to the water right after you add the pasta.
Healthy…. this is not as healthy as a tomato-base pasta dish but if you eat it once in a while you are ok.
Alternatives… I added in meatballs my mom made yesterday. I guess that was her contribution lol. I would not typically put any meat in with my white sauce. You can also add canned clams or mussels to make it a seafood dish.
Enjoy.
About GLOSSette

I am just an average gal in her mid 20's trying to live life in this money eating world. I love all things to do with makeup, beauty, organization, and living on a budget. I have two Youtube channels "xxlostintranslationx" and "TheGLOSSette". My blog is just an extension of Youtube as well as quirky things I do and find in my daily life.
This entry was posted in Pasta, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Homemade Easy White Sauce w/ Veggies

  1. TanishaLynne says:

    When you say to add veggies are you talking about the bok choi? Is that the only vegetables that in in it? Gonna make this on sunday. All i have to buy is bok choi. This sounds simple and good.

Leave a Reply

