Why is it important to wear sunscreen?


GLOSSette here!!! So why is it important to wear sunscreen?? Well I kinda have some thoughts on that that I will share with ya’ll. Mind you I’m not a dermatologist or what have you. It is kinda obvious when you go out in the sun that you use SPF like on a hot day out or when your at the beach or at the pool and so on.

What sunscreen does is to block your skin from being directly in contact with the sun. If you get direct contact with the sun you can end up having skin cancer, age spots, pre mature wrinkles, and all the things you don’t want. The earlier you start wearing sunscreen the better.

Some people say that the higher the SPF the better it will work. I don’t know if that is true but I heard that anything over SPF 60 is useless. And SPF that is less than 15 is useless too. Don’t count on regular moisturizers or foundations for your SPF. Most have too little but some do have a good amount like the L’oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup, some of the MAC liquid foudnations, and Shiseido one (one in the light blue packaging). Basically if you burn in 1 min and you have SPF of 15 on then you will burn in 15 mins instead. It is also required to wear sunscreen 30 mins before you get in contact with the sun.

I tend to wear SPF on my face more so than my body since the skin on the face is more delicate and more prone to sun damage. I use Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunscreen SPF 45 during the spring and summer. In the fall and winter I use my regular moisturizer. I only use sunscreen on my body when I am sitting out in the sun for long periods of time aka at the beach, at an outdoor event, swimming, etc. Espeically when you are in the water the light reflects the water and you burn more so make sure to put that sunscreen on. I don’t care for what brand since my body is dry skin so I don’t have to worry about being a grease ball.

I’d have to admit I like being dark so for the longest time I didn’t put sunscreen on and I burned like crazy. I am not super pale or dark. I am about a NC25 in MAC. But mind you my body is 2 or 3 shades darker than my face. You will still be able to tan with sunscreen on but not that fast and I only apply thin layer of SPF on my body.

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunscreen Review >>

xoxo
 

About GLOSSette

I am just an average gal in her mid 20's trying to live life in this money eating world. I love all things to do with makeup, beauty, organization, and living on a budget. I have two Youtube channels "xxlostintranslationx" and "TheGLOSSette". My blog is just an extension of Youtube as well as quirky things I do and find in my daily life.
This entry was posted in L'oreal Paris, M- R, MAC Cosmetics, Makeup & Skincare, Neutrogena, Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why is it important to wear sunscreen?

  1. Pingback: YAY or NAY? AHAVA Time to Smooth Age Control Day Moisturizer |

Leave a Reply

