Frugal Living: Cost of Living


GLOSSette here!!! In one of my recent post regarding my grocery challenge, a loyal YouTube and blog subscriber mentioned how she is able to spend only $175/ month on groceries for 2 people including her growing teenage son. It got me thinking about how much I spend since I don’t think I spend that much each month.

The spending has to do with the cost of living. I live in probably the most expensive province in Canada. Why do people live here you ask? Well, we have the best weather. Our winters aren’t snowed-in with temperatures of -30 degrees celsius nor do we have super humid summers of 40 degrees celsius. We kinda have the best of both worlds. When it comes to cost that isn’t the case.

Whenever I think of how much I spend, it always reminds me of our good family friends who moved to Arizona about a year ago. They purchased a huge 4-5 bedroom house for approximately $200k USD. For that price, you are only going to get a small cramped 1-bedroom condo in my neighbourhood. This goes to show that I live in a place that cost a fortune. Our gas, groceries, entertainment, and everything in between cost a lot.

I mentioned in a previous post that a family of 6 in the States live on a $28k yearly income. That is kinda pushing too far. However, it is easier for an American than a Canadian. With all that in mind, I no longer feel guilty of spending what I do each month on groceries.

The $200/ Month Grocery Challenge still continues and if you haven’t already, follow us in our journey.

xoxo

About GLOSSette

I am just an average gal in her mid 20's trying to live life in this money eating world. I love all things to do with makeup, beauty, organization, and living on a budget. I have two Youtube channels "xxlostintranslationx" and "TheGLOSSette". My blog is just an extension of Youtube as well as quirky things I do and find in my daily life.
This entry was posted in Frugal Living, Home & Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

