Frugal Living: Grocery Challenge is Hard!!!


GLOSSette here!!! My mom and I are still trying to do our $200/ month grocery challenge. It has been very tough. Even though I try to buy groceries that are on sale or cheaper, things here are just very expensive. We are cancelling our Costco membership at the end of this month. Last Friday, we made our final trip to Costco. We usually just go there to buy meat and some produce/food that are on sale. We got our two months worth of meat which consisted of ground pork (my mom is allergic to beef), pack of mixed chicken wings and drumsticks, and boneless/skinless chicken. We also bought 2 flats of canned goods, one being chili beans and the other cream of mushroom soup. All in all it is cheaper but we don’t know exactly how many months those things will last us so it’s hard for us to calculate our monthly budget.

I don’t know about ya’ll but buying groceries is hard when you don’t have a vehicle. If you watched my latest grocery haul you will have seen me kinda talk about it in the beginning before I show the groceries. My mom is thinking of not using her car anymore aka not paying insurance which expires this Saturday so I guess the day after this blog post is live. Cutting car costs (insurance, gas, maintenance) won’t save us a huge amount of money in the big scheme of things since we will need to take transit. That will not cost as much but still a cost. It will also add to our inconvenience in terms of going places such as groceries or even within the city (if not walking distance). It isn’t that big of a deal for groceries anymore since we decided that if we don’t use car we will buy those little carts where we can use to haul our groceries home. They cost around $20 and even saw it at Winners (one of my fave stores comparable to TJ MAXX or Marshalls for ya`ll Americans).

My mom thought it over and was thinking about keeping the car. However, the car has been having issues more so recently then it has ever been. Our car is old… its been around for 16 years. It has problems for a long time but never so frequent/often as it has in the last few months. Cost car though high is not the main problem…. its the pain of dealing with the car and getting help with the car when it breaks down or has some problem.

Things are just really difficult now. Plus it doesn’t help when I am without job. I know God provides and with God everything is possible. I pray to Him and ask for his guidance and strength. As 2 Corinthians 12:10 says “Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.”

Sorry for needing to sound serious. This is a serious issue.

xoxo

About GLOSSette

I am just an average gal in her mid 20's trying to live life in this money eating world. I love all things to do with makeup, beauty, organization, and living on a budget. I have two Youtube channels "xxlostintranslationx" and "TheGLOSSette". My blog is just an extension of Youtube as well as quirky things I do and find in my daily life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Frugal Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frugal Living: Grocery Challenge is Hard!!!

  1. Hello, i feel that i saw you visited my site so i came to go back the desire?.I’m attempting to to find things to improve my web site!I assume its ok to make use of a few of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

