Filofax/ Day Runner Week #3


GLOSSette here! I can’t believe its been three weeks since I used my new agenda. Well more like 2.5 weeks since I didn’t start till mid way through the week about 2 weeks ago. I was using my agenda last night and when I held it I fell more and more in love with it. Is that weird? Plus I named it Stacie so its a girl. I guess my little baby lol. I did switch out some stuff to make room for my A-Z contact sheets that came with my agenda. I will probably do an update soon when I get things more situated. I did however make a day per page insert for 5.5 x 8.5 size for ya’ll to print and use for free.

I started the week very very slow. I really didn’t get much done on Monday. It was hard for me to adjust back to normal working hours when I did breakfast shift last week. I was still waking up early (7am ish) though not as early as I did for work which was 4:45am. I will again have to adjust for this coming week as I have one early shift. Also, very excited as I got my first pay check from my job on Friday! I ended up getting a pair of jeggings with my money. I needed new pants and I saw them on sale. Way more comfortable than skinny jeans.

I didn’t add the full page a day like I did last week with the note sheets that came with my agenda. I don’t really have scheduled time slots in the weekends… moreso just to-dos. I inserted a 5 x 3 index card to put my Saturday to-dos on one side and my Sunday ones on the other side. I have yet to decide what to do with my small-ish space for the weekend.

xoxo

About GLOSSette

I am just an average gal in her mid 20's trying to live life in this money eating world. I love all things to do with makeup, beauty, organization, and living on a budget. I have two Youtube channels "xxlostintranslationx" and "TheGLOSSette". My blog is just an extension of Youtube as well as quirky things I do and find in my daily life.
This entry was posted in Agendas (Filofaxes), Home & Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Filofax/ Day Runner Week #3

  1. Anonymous says:

    Love how pretty your planner looks! Guess what…. after our comments back & forth on your blog and youtube videos, I decided to get the same DayRunner planner, which just arrived today…. and now I want to get rid of my expensive Filofaxes!!! Even though the DayRunner’s not quite as stylish/impressive looking, it looks to be a way more practical size for me! I also love that it’s only 3-hole punched, so it’s easy to insert things with my single-hole puncher. The slim 3/4″ ring-size is one of the only compromises – it makes it lighter/more portable, but I’ll have to be really selective about what I keep in the planner & not let it get too stuffed, which would be easy to do.

    Maybe when I’m working in an office again & need to look “impressive” I’ll return to the expensive leather Filofax, but for my current unemployed self, this DayRunner is just fine. Plus it’s great that it uses standard North American page sizing, which is much more convenient.

    Now I’m off to fix it up & customize it, like in your video. 🙂

    • GLOSSette says:

      I’d love to see a pic, blog post, or video about it once you customize it. I am glad you find my blog posts and videos very useful. That means so much. I’m having a lot of issues with the 3/4 inch size ring b/c I have sooo much stuff to fit in there. I had to take some less used stuff out to make room for things. I’m not sure I want to go to 1 or 1.5 inch yet since the binding would be super huge. Although this fits 5.5×8.5 size inserts it still is pretty compact and easy to travel around with it.

      • Anon68 says:

        Yeah, I saw your other post about your struggle w/ the ring size. Actually, now that I’m getting into setting mine up, I’m really seeing that issue even more now, too… Also, do you notice that the pages kind of get stuck a little when you turn them, because of the small rings? Not sure if that’s gonna be a deal-breaker for me over time, but we’ll see.

        I haven’t been much on pics/videos/blogs myself; I’ve mostly just been watching other people’s! lol Maybe I’ll do that though, once I settle on a system. Right now I’m still in experimentation mode to see what works. The other thing I’ve been exploring is the “2do” task manager app for my iPhone. I learned about it from Enjoyette’s videos on her Filofax Malden setup – she mentioned that she sort of coordinates her planner w/ her iPhone app. It’s hard for me to figure out which stuff to go digital with, and which stuff paper. I’m also looking at using my Quicken program to track expenses and bank accounts.

    • GLOSSette says:

      If you put too much then its hard to turn the page. I’m sure this is the same for using a compact Filofax and filling it up to the rim… those rings is even small like .50 ish whereas this one is .75. The way I made a pretty boarder around the part of the page that is closest to the ring makes the edge more durable when turning the hard to turn pages. If you are really wanting this 5.5×8.5 size and want to carry it around with you then this is your only option. One of the reasons people don’t want to carry an A5 filofax is that it is too big and bulky. If I’m not mistaken the A5 pages are shorter and wider than the ones I’m using.

      • Anon68 says:

        Actually, the pages caught on the rings a little straight out of the box, before I even added anything to it. I guess it just goes with having that small ring size, similar to the Filofax compact binders, like you said. I’ll try the washi tape/craft paper idea to reinforce near the rings for my calendars, but it would be a pain to have to do that for every piece of paper I insert – like for random notes and what not. Yes, the A5 Filofax is very big/bulky to carry around. I actually put the DayRunner on top of my A5 Chameleon Filo to compare sizes. The binders were the exact same length/width, looking down from the top. But A5 was thicker, with larger rings, and heavier due to the leather and all the inserts/paper inside. As far as portability & style, the smaller personal size Filofaxes are great, but you have to deal with very narrow pages, which is hard. So… it’s a tossup.
        The Filofax A5 pages are slightly shorter & slightly wider than the 8.5″x5.5″ pages of DayRunner, DayTimer, and Franklin Covey (North American sizing). You can see the dimensions here: http://www.filofaxusa.com/sizeguide/

Leave a Reply

